Revamping of Christ Church Newgate St

Anything that doesn't fit anywhere else, but that's still CH related.

Moderator: Moderators

michael scuffil
Button Grecian

Revamping of Christ Church Newgate St

Post by michael scuffil »

The CHOBA newsletter for December drew attention to the proposals contained here:

https://citizensmemorial.files.wordpres ... morial.pdf

Certainly anyone with an interest in CH should also be interested in this plan. Christ Church Newgate St is the only surviving physical link with the old CH, of which it was in effect the chapel, and is the only publicly accessible place you can go and say with certainty 'Coleridge (e.g.) was here.'

It was largely destroyed in 1941, with only the steeple and the shell of the walls left standing. I've been visiting it on and off since about 1960. The steeple, Wren's best in my opinion, has been perfectly restored and is now a small block of flats. In 1970, about half of the remaining walls were demolished as part of a road-widening scheme, but at that time, the interior was overgrown wasteland. It has since been converted into a very pleasant garden.

The plan is to reinstate the walls, thus enclosing the garden. I am in two minds about this. The initiators of the plan, in my opinion, overstate the case by excessively denigrating the present state of the site. They want to isolate the garden from the life around it. But in spite of the traffic noise, I find it peaceful enough. If the walls were rebuilt, it would still be pleasant, though different. I won't be lending active support to the plan, but I shan't oppose it either.
Th.B. 27 1955-63
Adrian
LE (Little Erasmus)

Re: Revamping of Christ Church Newgate St

Post by Adrian »

Thanks for that, very interesting. I have made a mental note to visit the place next time I go to London.
Maine A; Peele A 75-82
eucsgmrc
GE (Great Erasmus)

Post by eucsgmrc »

A couple of photos from about 1959 showing the state of Christ Church back then: