Single sex versus mixed schooling

Anything that doesn't fit anywhere else, but that's still CH related.

Moderator: Moderators

englishangel
Forum Moderator

Single sex versus mixed schooling

Post by englishangel »

I can see this one coming under 'Who has never been back?'

I think part of my problem was keeping the oestrogen under control.

I was an early developer so I had about 5 years when I had to control it.

(waiting to hear JRs comment on that).

It must be much easier now, and exam results don't seem to be that much affected jusdging by the latest ones in Housey (there it is again).

My kids are all at mixed (state) schools although there are single sex ones in the area and my daughter says there is 'no way' she would go to a girls' school, even a day one.
Great Plum
Button Grecian

Post by Great Plum »

I don't think i would want to go to a single sex school...

My parents went to single sex schools and they seem well adjusted to me... ;)
Maine B - 1992-95 Maine A 1995-99
Mid A 15
Button Grecian

Post by Mid A 15 »

Depends on circumstances in my opinion. For example if the child only has siblings of the same sex then the answer may be different than for a child with mixed siblings.

Furthermore the impact and effect of a school's gender makeup is (or was in my time anyway) greater at a boarding school than a day school simply because there are fewer opportunities for "escape".

I think a child is likely to develop less "hang ups" at a mixed school although, having said that, in the fullness of time it is possible to learn how to interact with the opposite sex even after 7 years in a single sex boarding school. Look at Spoonbill and Englishangel! :wink:

In our own family two of my daughters went to a mixed state grammar and both were very happy there and frequently speak of their old school with affection. Our youngest daughter is happily studying at a state all girls high school which is excellent for sport, her "thing".