Should I change my browser?

Anything that doesn't fit anywhere else, and is NON CH related - chat about the weather, or anything else that takes your fancy.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
mvgrogan
Deputy Grecian
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:26 pm
Real Name: Maria Vatanen (nee Grogan)
Location: Turku, Finland

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by mvgrogan » Wed Mar 03, 2010 5:36 pm

I use Firefox for most things but every now & then use IE (like if I want to get into my hotmail - rarely). So, I have both on the PC, just don't use IE often.
Maria Vatanen nee Grogan 6's (6:12) 81-85 BaB (BaB48) 85-87

User avatar
Tommy
GE (Great Erasmus)
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:32 pm
Real Name: Dave Tomkins MaB/MaA 1983-90

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by Tommy » Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:56 am

Fjgrogan wrote:Telephone Preference Service is great, but it doesn't stop calls purporting to be from overseas.
Never had any so can't comment on that! :)
Dave Tomkins MaB/MaA 1983-90

Facebook Group Christ's Hospital Class of 1990 & Thereabouts
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id= ... 6403822891

sejintenej
Button Grecian
Posts: 3097
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:19 pm
Real Name: David Brown
Location: Essex

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by sejintenej » Fri Mar 05, 2010 8:29 pm

I've used IEand Firefox.
Firefox on my old PC until the power unit died which was about the time that Microsh** brought out massively upgraded antivirus updates. I do use extensive firewalls on the house net plus Avast etc here.

My current PC is solely IE though I don't think much of it - I really liked the tabs in Firefox which IE doesn't have. OTOH I got hangups with Firefox even more than with IE.

FYI I know that HSBC Bank offers cheap (?free) antivirus software and I suspect the other banks do as well.
It is hard to make a comeback when you haven’t been anywhere.

User avatar
Jo
Button Grecian
Posts: 2230
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:36 pm
Real Name: Jo Sidebottom
Location: Milton Keynes
Contact:

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by Jo » Fri Mar 05, 2010 11:53 pm

sejintenej wrote:I've used IEand Firefox.
Firefox on my old PC until the power unit died which was about the time that Microsh** brought out massively upgraded antivirus updates. I do use extensive firewalls on the house net plus Avast etc here.

My current PC is solely IE though I don't think much of it - I really liked the tabs in Firefox which IE doesn't have. OTOH I got hangups with Firefox even more than with IE.

FYI I know that HSBC Bank offers cheap (?free) antivirus software and I suspect the other banks do as well.
IE8 has tabs. Also if you want free AV software, I've used AVG and am currently using Avast.
Jo
5.7, 1967-75

User avatar
NEILL THE NOTORIOUS
Button Grecian
Posts: 2612
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:01 pm
Real Name: NEILL PURDIE EVANS

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by NEILL THE NOTORIOUS » Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:43 pm

Yep ! I rang Virgin Media about my Overseas Sales Calls --- and they told me that TPS would cover that, but that I had to re-register each year, so I rang TPS to register and was told "This number is already registered"
They have sent me (They say) a comp;aints form --- which I shall use to request accurate information

During the last 4 days I have received TWO notifications that I have won a luxury holiday !!!
One is in the Caribbean the other in Florida.

You know, I am tempted to reply -- just to see what the sales pitch is !!

User avatar
jhopgood
Button Grecian
Posts: 1712
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 6:26 pm
Real Name: John Hopgood
Location: Valencia

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by jhopgood » Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:12 pm

Just trying out Camino.
Anyone ever used it?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-14370878
Barnes B 25 (59 - 66)

User avatar
englishangel
Forum Moderator
Posts: 6955
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 12:22 pm
Real Name: Mary Faulkner (Vincett)
Location: Amersham, Buckinghamshire

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by englishangel » Tue Aug 02, 2011 11:25 pm

The two men in my office (computer useless the pair of them) both use IE (and don't even know what it means) while Gabrielle and I use Firefox and Chrome. I also use Chrome at home.

We had a girlie giggle over the BBC report.
"If a man speaks, and there isn't a woman to hear him, is he still wrong?"

User avatar
NEILL THE NOTORIOUS
Button Grecian
Posts: 2612
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:01 pm
Real Name: NEILL PURDIE EVANS

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by NEILL THE NOTORIOUS » Fri Aug 05, 2011 5:22 pm

I used Chrome, to look up something, and, being geriatric, wanted to print it.

No joy --- little notice, at the end "Copyright"

I didn't realise that "Information" was "Copyright " !!!! :oops:

sejintenej
Button Grecian
Posts: 3097
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:19 pm
Real Name: David Brown
Location: Essex

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by sejintenej » Fri Aug 05, 2011 7:16 pm

New laptop came with IE loaded on Windows 7. I have loaded the latest Firefox; Firefox is infinitely faster than IE. I don't know about resource needs (I seem to have far too much memory including 392gB of hard disk and 2 gB of RAM!) but I did prefer the earlier versions on screen (doesn't help that the 890 pages of manuals are in French). For presentation I still prefer Firefox out of the two.
I am concerned about Chrome because I don't know if the writers have put in some back doors through which they can get info. (I'm thinking about Apple (?) ability to trace every movement of every one of the owners of one of their products - if they can do it no doubt less reputable people will be using that to get blackmail evidence (IF you've naughty))

User avatar
NEILL THE NOTORIOUS
Button Grecian
Posts: 2612
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:01 pm
Real Name: NEILL PURDIE EVANS

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by NEILL THE NOTORIOUS » Sat Aug 06, 2011 3:15 pm

I wish I understood any of the last post, from David !

I just sit in front of the screen and log on to CH Forum, or Outlook Express , while the machine plays lovely melodies by the "New Seekers" -- and the like.

Perhaps I should have posted this on "I am sad !"

sejintenej
Button Grecian
Posts: 3097
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:19 pm
Real Name: David Brown
Location: Essex

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by sejintenej » Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:02 pm

NEILL THE NOTORIOUS wrote:I wish I understood any of the last post, from David !

I just sit in front of the screen and log on to CH Forum, or Outlook Express , while the machine plays lovely melodies by the "New Seekers" -- and the like.

Perhaps I should have posted this on "I am sad !"
Don't worry about it. Somebody, somewhere put a load of stuff in your black box machine which allows you to get into CHForum. He / she / it was probably bribed (by the hope of continued employment perhaps) to choose and load one of a dozen available programs (WTF do we have to spell that the merkin way?), each of which does the same job either quickly, semi-quickly or slowly or snailpaced or at "tear your last hair out" speed.
For me with my overall setup Firefox sings, the Microsoft product sucks and I suspect the one called Chrome ****. It's like your rifle; if it works don't mend it until it is broken

User avatar
NEILL THE NOTORIOUS
Button Grecian
Posts: 2612
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:01 pm
Real Name: NEILL PURDIE EVANS

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by NEILL THE NOTORIOUS » Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:39 pm

I have a "Security System" called "Firewall" --- which takes about three minutes to allow me to do anything.

I don't know about the Rifle -- but I sometimes feel like fixing bayonets and charging the screen ! :?

sejintenej
Button Grecian
Posts: 3097
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:19 pm
Real Name: David Brown
Location: Essex

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by sejintenej » Tue Aug 09, 2011 8:16 am

NEILL THE NOTORIOUS wrote:I have a "Security System" called "Firewall" --- which takes about three minutes to allow me to do anything.

I don't know about the Rifle -- but I sometimes feel like fixing bayonets and charging the screen ! :?
Gone to PM - I wonder if his "history" has too high a setting and is clogged. That happens to me frequently

User avatar
J.R.
Forum Moderator
Posts: 14809
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 4:53 pm
Real Name: John Rutley
Location: Dorking, Surrey

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by J.R. » Tue Aug 09, 2011 3:38 pm

sejintenej wrote:
NEILL THE NOTORIOUS wrote:I have a "Security System" called "Firewall" --- which takes about three minutes to allow me to do anything.

I don't know about the Rifle -- but I sometimes feel like fixing bayonets and charging the screen ! :?
Gone to PM - I wonder if his "history" has too high a setting and is clogged. That happens to me frequently

Sounds about right David. Probably a defrag would help as well.
John Rutley. Prep B & Coleridge B. 1958-1963.

User avatar
Mid A 15
Button Grecian
Posts: 2924
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 1:38 pm
Real Name: Claude Rains
Location: The Patio Of England (Kent)

Re: Should I change my browser?

Post by Mid A 15 » Tue Aug 09, 2011 3:56 pm

Click on Tools then select the delete browsing history option.

That should remove the temporary internet files and cookies which often contribute to a slow machine.

Much more than that is way beyond my capability!
Ma A, Mid A 65 -72

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests