Ernest Christopher "Kit" Aitken

Anything that doesn't fit anywhere else, but that's still CH related.

Moderator: Moderators

sejintenej
Button Grecian

Ernest Christopher "Kit" Aitken

Post by sejintenej »

Has anyone knowledge of Kit's career prior to CH?
I have found a reference to a lieutenant of that name in the Royal Norfolk Regiment commissioned ca 20 May 1941 though I hope it is not the same person. There is no reference to his injury
What happens if a politician drowns in a river? That is pollution.
What happens if all of them drown? That is solution!!!
richardb
Forum Moderator

Re: Ernest Christopher "Kit" Aitken

Post by richardb »

For practical reasons I have a subscription to the British Newspaper Archive.

Two references in it to Ernest Christopher Aitken.

1. In June 1939 a man of that name gave evidence for the prosecution at the Fleet, having been involved in a road traffic accident. He is described as a schoolmaster of the Vicarage, Great Yarmouth.

2. In November 1955 he appeared at Horsham Magistrates Court in a list of road traffic cases. He was fined £3 for "obstruction". His address is given as Coleridge A!!

There are no references to a Kit Aitken.
LongGone
Deputy Grecian

Post by LongGone »

Well, since “Kit” is a common contraction for Christopher, and he is at Col A, I will go out on a limb and accept them as being the same person.
If a stone falls on an egg: alas for the egg
If an egg falls on a stone: alas for the egg
sejintenej
Button Grecian

Post by sejintenej »

LongGone wrote: Mon Feb 08, 2021 7:32 pm Well, since “Kit” is a common contraction for Christopher, and he is at Col A, I will go out on a limb and accept them as being the same person.
No doubt about it. He was a Norfolk man and all three names match. I remember Col A house play one year was "The importance of being Ernest" about which everybody had a few words including him!
Martin
LE (Little Erasmus)

Post by Martin »