Shrove Tuesday Plays

Share your memories and stories from the Hertford Christ's Hospital School, which closed in 1985, when the two schools integrated to the Horsham site....

Moderator: Moderators

Katharine
Button Grecian

Shrove Tuesday Plays

Post by Katharine »

This evening, as I was doing the ironing, I heard the Radio 4 play about Richard II. I am pretty sure one year one of the Shrove Tuesday plays was about him and his wife Anne of Bohemia (Kerren any ideas?) Did the practice of two houses performing on Shrove Tuesday last?

6s did at least two while I was there - one was 1066 & All That - I was a Roman soldier amongst other walk on parts, it may have been my first year, if not then my second. The other play I remember doing was either Quality Street or Pygmalion, then I did the lights.
Katharine Dobson (Hills) 6.14, 1959 - 1965
Angela Woodford
Button Grecian

Re: Shrove Tuesday Plays

Post by Angela Woodford »

I certainly do remember Quality Street, Katharine!

The UV1 of The Study were unfailingly angry with me that year - it must have been your last year at CH. Punishment followed punishment for my boisterous behaviour and giggling. But for that performance of Quality Street, you and your friends harnessed the power of my giggle.

Do you remember at some moment in the play, the hero and heroine moved centre front for a swift clinch, only to be interrupted by the children of the house? Again and again I was rehearsed by Anne-Marie Kelly. We were required to creep and peer from behind the rear curtain (L) and that was the moment when I was required to startle the couple and emit a piercing giggle. I did my best, though I was somewhat embarassed. The giggle that got me into such dire trouble in House was suddenly contributing towards the success of the play. Wendy Lee even recorded it in the House Record Book that was read out at the last tea time of the term. "It will never be forgotten" she wrote.

Do you remember this?